ECO Ministers Underline Broadening of Energy Cooperation

8 Mar

ECO Ministers Underline Broadening of Energy Cooperation

TEHRAN (FNA)- The energy ministers of the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) underscored the need for the follow-up and implementation of the agreements signed during the previous ECO summits by their leaders on energy cooperation.

In a 13-clause statement issued at the end of the Third Meeting of ECO Energy Ministers here in Tehran on Wednesday, the ECO energy ministers stressed the importance of materialization of the decisions made by ECO leaders so far.

Yesterday, ECO Secretary-General Shamil Aleskerov underlined ECO’s crucially important role in global energy supply, and called for further cooperation among the member-states in area of oil, gas and power exports.

“ECO is considered a very important region in terms of energy and it has high potentials in this field,” Aleskerov said, addressing the Third Meeting of ECO Energy Ministers here in Tehran.

Meantime, he voiced pleasure in energy cooperation among ECO members, and encouraged the member states to boost this cooperation.

“ECO members are implementing different joint projects such as export of electricity, gas and oil and we can be hopeful about increasing such collaborations in the future,” the ECO secretary-general added.

The ECO is an intergovernmental organization involving seven Asian and three Eurasian nations, part of the South-central Asian Union. It provides a platform to discuss ways to improve development and promote trade, and investment opportunities. The ECO is an ad hoc organization under the United Nations Charter (Chap. VIII). The common objective is to establish a single market for goods and services, much like the European Union.

ECO’s secretariat and cultural department are located in Tehran, its economic bureau is in Turkey and its scientific bureau is situated in Pakistan. The organization’s population is 416,046,863 and the area is 8,620,697 km². The organization was founded by Turkey, Iran and Pakistan.

The ECO has 10 member-states at present time. Turkey, Republic of Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan are member-states of ECO.

( Fonte: )

%d blogger hanno fatto clic su Mi Piace per questo: